Country Funk

Country FunkWhat the hell is Country Funk!

When I first stumbled across the term Country Funk I could feel my brain grinding against itself trying to process this previously unknown sub-genre of music.  I believe it’s what psychologists call cognitive dissonance – and although it hurts, it’s also quite exhilarating!

I just had to hear it to find out what it was all about and to put my mind at rest.  When I did find out I just had to buy it.

The disc is a compilation released by Light In The Attic records, containing re-mastered tracks that were recorded in the USA sometime between 1969 and 1975.  There really is no other definition than Country Funk – as well as the country feel it has a touch of blues and soul to it, with plenty of deep grooves.  It makes sense when you hear it.

I had only come across of a couple of the artists on the CD before, but certainly not in this context – it really was a revelation.  I felt myself doing a little “yes” inside when I heard it – it’s incredibly funky and nominally country.

Unfortunately I cannot post music or video on here, but watch this little video about What’s Inside, or listen to samples of the tracks here, or visit the record company page here – Light In The Attic.

Leave a Reply

