The Wooden Thread on Etsy

To celebrate the fact that I recently gained my 100th follower on WordPress (and if you can think of anyone else who might be interested please do send them a link!) I thought that I’d write something different from my usual ramblings and do a little bit of shameless self-promotion.

2014-10-19 15.36.03For about the same amount of time that I have been writing this blog I have also been maintaining a little shop on Etsy called ‘The Wooden Thread‘.

For those who have not come across Etsy, it was created as an online market place specifically for designer/makers to sell their wares and also for people to sell vintage items.  It very much taps into a trend which has grown up in the last decade or so – the return of ‘craft’.  Knitting, sewing, baking and woodwork, much of which has even invaded prime-time television of late.

Etsy is full of a diverse range of retro and original pieces – ideal for people who want something unique and hand-made or something a little different from the brand new.

My shop, ‘The Wooden Thread‘, is largely stocked with interesting retro things that I’ve found – I would love to have the time to include a few more of my own creations, but at the moment I simply don’t, unfortunately.

Hornsea, Meakin, Old Hall, Midwinter and 2014-10-19 16.03.16loads of other, nameless pieces, largely from the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s – there is something warm about older items, they feel sturdy, better made and generally more substantial than modern items designed for the home that are currently available in high street shops.

If you would like to visit ‘Wooden Thread‘ (and I sincerely hope you will) or would simply like to browse Etsy itself, you can click here.  Or you could click on the banner I’ve added to the right of the first page of this blog, which says ‘I sell on Etsy’.

il_170x135.646299789_mvbxil_170x135.426043726_g13dil_170x135.637679160_d927il_170x135.632548932_4u5m

Leave a Reply

